Crab Lasagna and Nutella Cheesecake

This weekend was one of the best I’ve had in a while. On Saturday Bob and I had our engagement photos. We started at the Green Bay Courthouse for some super classy inside photos. The rainy and cloudy weather almost ruined the second part of the day… outside photos, but just as we were leaving the courthouse, the sun started to peak out. For outdoor photos, Bob and I were hoping to have some snow since it is January. But our photographer found this forest/park that was just beautiful even without snow. The photographer posted a sneak peak of our photos on her Facebook page, and I CAN NOT WAIT to see the rest of the photos!

All the love, picture taking and wedding talk put me a happy, love-drunk kind of mood, so I decided to make a yummy dinner and dessert for Bob and me. For dinner, I combined our love of crab with our love of lasagna with these delicious crab lasagna rolls.Then for dessert I made a super easy, super yummy no bake Nutella cheesecake. One of the main reasons I chose this dessert was because I wanted to be able to use the dessert cups I got for Christmas.

Crab Lasagna Rolls (originally from Turtleheart Cove)

DSC_0160

Ingredients:

8 lasagna noodles

Tomato sauce (at least 26 oz)

8 ounces crab meat (real or imitation)

1 1/4 cup cottage cheese (drained)

1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

1 tablespoon dried parsley flakes

1/4 teaspoon onion powder

1 egg
Directions:

1. Cook the noodles according to package directions, until al dente. If you overcook them, they will be too mushy to roll.

2. While the noodles cook, mix the crab meat, cottage cheese, parmesan cheese, parsley flakes, onion powder and egg.

3. When the noodles are done, drain and lay out on waxed paper.

4. Spread about 1/4 cup of the crab mixture onto each noodle. Leave about an inch on the end and don’t fill too full, so the filling doesn’t ooze out when you roll them.

5. Gently roll up and place in a baking sheet seam side down. Don’t roll too tightly or push down on the rolls to prevent the filling from falling out.

5. Cover in tin foil and cook at 375˚for about 30 minutes.

I didn't cut the crab up too much, so we would get these nice big bites.

I didn’t cut the crab up too much, so we would get these nice big bites.

No Bake Nutella Cheesecake (originally from Andy & Bell)

These dessert is very tasty, but also very filling. Bob and I could have easily shared one.

These dessert is very tasty, but also very filling. Bob and I could have easily shared one.

The original recipe called for Belgium Butters Almond Thins, but I couldn’t find these at my grocery store (I knew I should have gone to Woodman’s today; they have everything…usually). So I just used 15 Oreos. If you do know where to get some Almond Thins, the recipe is 5 Oreos and 10 almond thins.

Ingredients:

Crust-

15 Oreos, crushed

3 tablespoons melted butter

Filling-

8 ounces cream cheese, softened

2/3 cup Nutella

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

whipped cream (I used about 3/4 of a container of cool whip)

Directions:

1. Mixed together the cookie crumbles and the butter; press onto the bottom of your serving dishes.

2. Beat the cream cheese and Nutella until smooth, then add the vanilla and beat about a minute more.

3. Fold in the whip cream with a spatula.

4. Divide the filling among your serving dishes and cool until set (and ready to eat).

About Nicole Hangartner

A college grad navigating the real world while trying to remain fashionable and well fed. View all posts by Nicole Hangartner

One response to “Crab Lasagna and Nutella Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

