Easy BBQ and Ranch Chicken Pizza

Today was a good day. Why? Because my first issue of Bon Appétit (BA) magazine arrived! The subscription was a St. Nick gift from Bob, so I’ve been anxiously awaiting its arrival for a month now. And not only has it finally arrived, but it’s also the cooking school issue—teaching basic cooking techniques like pan roasting, braising and even making homemade stock. As I flipped through it, I marked pages of recipes I can’t wait to try and even what occasions I might make them for. The chocolate buttermilk cake with chocolate-pecan icing would be perfect for Bob’s upcoming birthday.

But with exotic ingredients such as Dungeness crab for a delicious sounding Crab Toast or flounder fillets to go with the Fennel-Tomato Sauce, also comes the thought “where am I going to find this in Green Bay?” So, as I make my foray into the gourmet recipes of BA , hopefully, I’ll stumble upon some great local places to buy the ingredients. Here’s hoping…

From the fancy pages of BA to the more everyday-cook pages of Taste of Home, I’m sharing a recipe for an easy BBQ & ranch chicken pizza. One of the reasons I selected this recipe was because it uses ranch dressing. Bob LOVES ranch and especially on his pizza. So this recipe eliminated his need to add it on the side since it’s already in the sauce. He did have one minor complaint though. Bob wasn’t a huge fan of the crescent crust; it was too buttery for him. I love crescents, so I liked it. But I’m sure a refrigerated tube of pizza dough (or maybe even a refrigerated tube of french bread) would work perfectly.

BBQ & Ranch Chicken Pizza (from December/January Taste of Home Magazine)

DSC_0153

Ingredients:

2 tubes of refrigerated crescent rolls

1/2 cup hickory smoke-flavored barbecue sauce, divided

1/4 cup ranch salad dressing (Bob and my preference is Hidden Valley Original)

3 cups cooked and cut up chicken breasts

2 cups shredded pizza cheese

Directions:

1. Press the crescent rolls onto the bottom and sides of a 15 in. x 10 in. baking sheet. Bake at 375˚ for 10 minutes.

2. Mix 1/4 cup of the BBQ sauce and the ranch; spread over crust.

3. Toss the cooked chicken with the remaining 1/4 BBQ sauce and arrange on the crust.

4. Top with the cheese.

5. Bake 15 – 20 minutes for until cheese is nice and melted.

DSC_0158

About Nicole Hangartner

A college grad navigating the real world while trying to remain fashionable and well fed. View all posts by Nicole Hangartner

Leave a Reply

