Lemon Poppyseed Ricotta Pancakes with Blackberry Sauce

If I had my way, every meal would be breakfast. It’s the only meal of the day that you can eat “cake.” But besides pancakes there’s waffles, cheesy eggs, biscuits, french toast, breakfast potatoes, cinnamon rolls… And they are all equally delicious!

Another good thing about breakfast food is that it’s easily made for one. I can grab 2 eggs, throw in some veggies and cheese, make some toast and I have a meal for myself without having to worry about leftovers. Don’t get me wrong, leftovers are awesome, especially for lunch the next day. But I also hate throwing away uneaten leftovers. So I think it’s a good idea once or twice a week to make a meal that’s just enough for me or just enough for Bob and I.

So if you haven’t guessed by the title or my rant about breakfast foods, I made pancakes tonight. To reduce the amount of leftovers I had, since it was just me tonight, I halved the recipe. I still ended up with a few leftover pancakes, but I don’t think I’ll have to worry about throwing them away.

These pancakes were especially perfect for dinner because they contain ricotta cheese (which I had just enough left in the container from a previous dinner), whole wheat flour and not that much sugar. So they are somewhat good for you and they aren’t overly sweet. But they still satisfied my sweet tooth enough to prevent my craving for dessert.

So… enough of my talking about pancakes.

Lemon Poppyseed Ricotta Pancakes with Blackberry Sauce (from Alida’s Kitchen)

Ingredients:

Sauce:

16 ounces blackberries (fresh or frozen)
1/4 cup water
2 tablespoons granulated sugar (adjust to taste)
1 tablespoon lemon juice

Pancakes:

15 ounces low fat ricotta cheese
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
2 large eggs
zest of 2 lemons
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2/3 cup whole wheat pastry flour (or all-purpose flour)
1 teaspoon poppy seeds
cooking spray
confectioners’ sugar, for serving (optional)

Directions:

Sauce:

  1. In a medium sauce pan, bring blackberries, water and sugar to a simmer, stirring occasionally. Simmer over low heat for 5 minutes.
  2. The original recipe said to strain the berries, add the lemon juice and refrigerate until cool. I kept all the juices in my sauce and decided not to chill it. It worked as a very yummy berry syrup.

Pancakes:

  1. In a medium bowl. whisk together ricotta cheese, sugar, eggs, lemon zest, juice and vanilla extract.
  2. Fold in flour until just combined; add poppy seeds, gently mixing until combined.
  3. Spray large non-stick skillet with cooking spray and heat to medium-low heat. Add batter, using a scant 1/4 cup for each pancake. Cook until browned, 4 to 5 minutes per side. Transfer pancakes to a paper towel-lined plate.
  4. Serve hot, with just the berry sauce or add a little syrup.

About Nicole Hangartner

A college grad navigating the real world while trying to remain fashionable and well fed. View all posts by Nicole Hangartner

Leave a Reply

