Happy Fourth of July!

I know it’s one day late, but this post is all about my celebration on the Fourth!

It all started with breakfast and my farmer’s market blueberries. I made a grilled cream cheese and blueberry sandwich with a fun surprise…. WINE JELLY! Yep, jelly made from one of my favorite things on earth. I found it at the farmer’s market on Broadway.

Blueberries and jelly from the Farmer’s Market!

I got the Moscato flavor and my mom bought the Riesling flavor – they are both delicious. The jelly is made by Cottage Grove Kitchen in Algoma, Wisconsin. The website has all the flavors and even recipes that use the jellies as marinades and fillings.

All I did was spread a little cream cheese and a little jelly on my bread and top with my delicious and fresh blueberries. Then you cook it exactly like a regular grilled cheese!

There was one other special surprise that I found at the Broadway Farmer’s Market and it was fun treats for my baby Brooklyn! She enjoyed her roast beef donut and her peanut butter blueberry bones!

After breakfast, a trip to Home Depot and some painting at my mom’s it was time for our late lunch, which consisted of grilled hamburgers, grilled potato slices, salad (from the Farmer’s market) and festival parfaits! Poor Bob had to sweat it out outside at the grill! It’s been sooo hot lately. The only good thing is that my usually wild Brooklyn has been a little calmer due to the heat.

Grilled Potato Slices (from Skinny Taste)

Ingredients:

  • 2 (13 oz total) medium russet potatoes, washed
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • sea salt and fresh cracked pepper

Directions:

Grill on a medium grill about 6 -10 minutes per side, or until soft in the center and a little crunchy on the outside.

Festive Parfaits

This recipe makes four pretty large servings.

Ingredients:

Fresh fruit – I used blueberries and strawberries

2 boxes instant cheesecake flavored pudding

Heavy whipping cream

powdered sugar

Directions:

Make pudding according to package directions. Once it’s set put a layer in your container (I used wine and margarita glasses!). Top the pudding with a layer of fruit. Add another layer of pudding followed by more fruit. On top I used some homemade whip cream (beat heavy cream and a couple tablespoons sugar until thick and fluffily).

Our late lunch left me feeling very full and a little tired, but I got to relax until we headed downtown for the fireworks. Can you believe that in all the years I’ve lived in Green Bay, I’ve never gone downtown for the fireworks! It was really fun and I’m glad we went. And the rain even held off until about 5 minutes after the show ended.

Bob and I getting ready for the firework show!!!

About Nicole Hangartner

A college grad navigating the real world while trying to remain fashionable and well fed. View all posts by Nicole Hangartner

Leave a Reply

