The Farmer’s Market

Today was the first time I’d been to the Green Bay Farmer’s Market and let me tell you, I’ve already decided I’ll be going back regularly and I’ve  planned for things I want to buy next week! I went with my mom and since it was both of our first times there, we did a lap to check out what was available. I was surprised at all the things that were there. Not only was there fresh veggies and fruits, but there were also flowers, breads, baked goods and food stands! I think my favorite was the eggs and bacon wagon.

Here is what I got:

Mint – $1 for a whole bunch!

Onions – $1 for about 4 small/medium onions

Peaches – $2/lb

Sweet Snap Peas – $2/ lb

Plus I got a free re-usable grocery bag from Bay Care! (one of the sponsors of the Market)

As I made my purchases, I immediately thought of what I was going to make with them. Tonight’s dinner featured the mint and peas.

Lemon Basil Chicken, Creamy Garlic Shells and salad featuring our Farmer’s Market peas.

Lemon Basil Chicken Recipe

Ingredients:

Boneless chicken breasts

Marinade –

3 tablespoons fresh chopped basil (1 tablespoon dried)

Juice of 2 lemons

1 tablespoon olive oil

4 cloves garlic, chopped ( I also got a new blender today that chops and grates and does a whole bunch of things besides blend!)

Directions:

1. Combine marinade ingredients in a plastic food storage bag; add chicken

2. Refrigerate for 1 to 2 hours

3. Grill using an oiled grill pan, grill rack or broiler (Bob grilled ours) for about 10 – 12 minutes or until cooked through. Turn often.

This chicken was DELICIOUS!!! It had such a great flavored. And the grill gave it the perfect amount of crispiness.

Mojito Slush Recipe (from my mom’s new Taste of Home Smoothies and Blender Drinks recipe book)

*Make sure to read the directions a head of time! I didn’t and I ended up with basically a regular mojito because I didn’t give it time to freeze into a slush.

I also added some frozen blueberries to my version.

Ingredients:

1- 3 oz package lime gelatin

2 tablespoons sugar

1 cup boiling water

1 cup fresh mint leaves

2 cans (12 oz each) frozen limeade concentrate

2 cups cold water

1 cup grapefruit soda (I couldn’t find this, so I used Fresca)

1 cup rum

Directions:

1. In a small bowl, dissolve gelatin and sugar in boiling water; add mint

2. Cover and steep for 20 minutes

3. Press through a sieve; discard mint

4. Stir in the limeade concentrate; cold water, soda and rum

5. our into a 2.5 quart freezer container

6. Freeze overnight or until set (this is the step I missed)

7. For each serving, scoop 2/3 cup slush into a glass. Pour soda in the glass; garnish if desired with extra mint and lime wedges

About Nicole Hangartner

A college grad navigating the real world while trying to remain fashionable and well fed. View all posts by Nicole Hangartner

Leave a Reply

