Italian Cod

Getting my new place unpacked and organized is taking longer than I’d like. It’s just the last thing I want to do when I get home. But my goal for this weekend is to get 80% of things unpacked and put away.

I also want to really start cooking again. That will require some grocery shopping though…I plan to start stocking my fridge with things from the Farmer’s Market this Saturday.

 

Italian Cod Recipe (from Foodnetwork.com)

Tonight’s dinner was based on the fact that my basil and parsley plants are getting out of control. Note: the recipe calls for halibut, but it was not available at the grocery store. Any white fish would be a perfect substitute – I chose cod because it was on sale!

Ingredients

Directions

Create an Italian herb baste by mixing together the olive oil, Italian seasoning, parsley, basil, shallots, garlic, and Parmesan in a bowl.

Coat the fish in the Italian herb baste and place fish on a preheated sauté pan. Cook, turning often to avoid burning, until fish is opaque and a knife slides in easily.

This was a very easy meal that I threw together in about 15 minutes. And since I already had the herbs, the olive oil and garlic at home, my grocery bill was only about $12 for the fish, shallots and parmesan.

About Nicole Hangartner

A college grad navigating the real world while trying to remain fashionable and well fed. View all posts by Nicole Hangartner

Leave a Reply

