Happy Memorial Day!

Today was filled with planting and cooking!

I started an herb garden – basil, oregano and parsley. But I wanted more! So, I bought some seeds since they are 98 cents a pack and will be starting a bigger herb garden from “scratch.” Hopefully (finger’s crossed), in a few weeks, my thyme, more basil, chives and mint will be popping up. Once the plants are ready to leave the seedling pots, I’m having Bob build me a big wooden planter. This way I can keep the herbs on our sun porch for easy access.

Before all the planting, I made crepes for breakfast. This time, I whipped up a chocolate pudding filling. I found the recipe on Pinterest and it’s super easy. Take a box of pudding, I chose chocolate, mix it with half the milk the directions call for and them mix in a container of cool whip. It was light and fluffy and delicious. Since there was leftovers, we pulled it back out for dinner to eat with our fruit.

For dinner – ¬†chicken salad, veggies, berries and of course… wine. Enjoyed on my mom’s new patio furniture! (At least for a bit before it started raining).

This chicken salad recipe, in my mind, is the perfect recipe. It has fruit, nuts and a little veggies. I never thought I’d find a chicken salad that I like more or just as much as the one Miss Amy made when I lived at the Tri Delta house at Butler. Chicken salad days meant everyone was eating lunch or dinner at Tri Delta… it was that GOOD.

This recipe is definitely just as good.

Recipe (From The Yummy Life):

Ingredients
  • 4 cups chopped, cooked chicken or turkey breast
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/2 cup chopped toasted pecans
  • 1/2 cup diced celery
  • 1/2 cup low-fat Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup light mayonnaise
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1-1/2 tablespoons chopped fresh tarragon leaves (or 1-1/2 teaspoons dried)
Directions
In large bowl, stir together all ingredients until well combined.
About Nicole Hangartner

A college grad navigating the real world while trying to remain fashionable and well fed. View all posts by Nicole Hangartner

Leave a Reply

