Chocolate Walnut Biscotti

Last night Bob and I went to Hinterland Brewery to celebrate my recent promotion at work. It was our first time there and the food was absolutely FANTASTIC! We got a bottle of Italian Pinot Grigio, even though they brew their own beer, because I’m not a beer drinker. We both decided to try something new so I picked the wood-fired duck and Bob tried the Elk Tenderloin. The meat was perfectly cooked, moist and tender in both dishes! The portion sizes were great too because we had room for dessert. I got a goat cheese pound cake with pickled raspberries. To be honest, I was worried what pickled raspberries would taste like, but all the pickling did was bring out the raspberry flavor even more. Besides the food, the atmosphere was very cool. There was a fireplace in the corner that kept the room warm, and the low lighting added to the ambiance.

This morning I tried my hand at biscotti. I’m an avid coffee drinker, so these are the perfect compliment to my morning cup. For my first time, I think they turned out pretty tasty. However, I will need to perfect my cutting technique because I ended up with a lot of loose crumbs. But the crumbs were the perfect appetizer to breakfast!

The more I bake and cook, the more I want to open up a bakery and coffee shop. I’d love to open up a little cafe where people can go and eat a delicious breakfast.

Recipe (From Ode To Goodness)

Ingredients: 

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 stick (6 tablespoons) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup walnuts, chopped
  • 3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 tablespoon confectioners sugar

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. and butter and flour a large baking sheet, or line with a silpat.
  2. In a bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda,cinnamon and salt. In another bowl with an electric mixer, beat together butter and granulated sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs and beat until well combined. Stir in flour mixture to form a stiff dough. Stir in walnuts and chocolate chips.
  3. Divide dough in half. On prepared baking sheet with floured hands form dough into two slightly flattened logs, each 12 inches long and 2 inches wide, and sprinkle with confectioners’ sugar. Bake logs 35 minutes, or until slightly firm to the touch. Cool biscotti on baking sheet 5 minutes.
  4. On a cutting board cut biscotti diagonally into 3/4-inch slices. Arrange biscotti, cut sides down, on baking sheet and bake until crisp, about 10 minutes. Cool biscotti on a rack.
About Nicole Hangartner

A college grad navigating the real world while trying to remain fashionable and well fed. View all posts by Nicole Hangartner

5 responses to “Chocolate Walnut Biscotti

Leave a Reply

