A tasty steak dinner

Last night Bob and I ate like royalty. It was nice actually being able to enjoy a meal together since we don’t get to see a lot of each other during the week with our opposite work schedules. We had a delicious steak dinner with sautéed mushrooms and bell peppers, fried rice and pistachio pudding for dessert.

mmm... steak

With the oh-so-nice weather, we were able to grill the steak. I asked Bob what he used as seasoning, but he said it’s his secret special blend. I think he at least uses some of the McCormick’s steak seasoning and season salt. I may not know what he used, but I do know that it was delicious!

The veggies

Bob’s grill also has a side burner, so while he was tending the steaks he sautéed the mushrooms and bell peppers (they were actually left overs from the fajitas). Again, Bob would not share his spices, but there was soy sauce involved and I think a little cayenne pepper to give them a little kick. The veggies tasted good on top of the steak, but also by themselves.

Homemade whip cream

 

For dessert? Well it’s just boxed pistachio pudding. BUT, the whipped cream is homemade. Take a cup of heavy cream and 2 tablespoons of powdered sugar, beat until firm and you have delicious whipped cream! I put them in wine glasses to make the simple dessert a little fancier.

 

Pistachio Pudding

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On an unrelated note, I want to show-off my new favorite jeans!

New Jeans

 

Can you guess where they’re from…. GOODWILL. I bought them for $7 and they fit beautifully. I’ve realized that skinny jeans may not be the appropriate shape for me. I can never find a pair that fits comfortably around my thighs and butt, but also fit my waist. I know I could get them tailored, but finding some that fit nice to begin with is even better. So basically, I’ve decided to NOT purchase anymore skinny jeans in the near future and stick with wider-legged silhouettes. I’m going to have stop by Goodwill every once in a while!

 

 

About Nicole Hangartner

A college grad navigating the real world while trying to remain fashionable and well fed. View all posts by Nicole Hangartner

Leave a Reply

