Pasta with Turkey and Broccoli

Tonight, after my first day at Legato (woot woot!), I made a nice easy pasta dish with ground turkey and broccoli. The best part of this dish was its simplicity. The taste was alright, but I probably won’t make it again. I just don’t think I’m a big fan of ground turkey. Once I tried a turkey meatloaf and I couldn’t get past the fact that it looked like brains… But for those of you who do like ground turkey, here’s the recipe.

 Ingredients

  • 3/4 pound orecchiette (I couldn’t find this specific type, so I used medium shells)
  • 2 cups broccoli florets
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 pound ground turkey
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon fennel seed (I omitted these)
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • kosher salt
  • Parmesan, for serving

Directions

  1. Cook the pasta according to the package directions, adding the broccoli during the last minute. Drain and return the pasta and broccoli to the pot.
  2. Meanwhile, heat 1 tablespoon of the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the turkey, garlic, fennel seed, and red pepper and cook, breaking up the meat with a spoon, until browned, 3 to 5 minutes; season with ½ teaspoon salt.
  3. Toss the turkey mixture with the pasta and broccoli and the remaining 2 tablespoons of oil. Serve with Parmesan.

As for my outfit du jour, I was rushing around when I got home and Brooklyn (my pooch) got it a little dirty, so I didn’t get a good picture of it. But I paired my new royal blue pants from Target with my pink boyfriend blazer and a white airy button down. I’ll be sure to take pictures right in the morning from now on!

About Nicole Hangartner

A college grad navigating the real world while trying to remain fashionable and well fed. View all posts by Nicole Hangartner

Leave a Reply

