Honey Cupcakes

Here is another recipe from Wild About Cupcakes – Honey Bee Cupcakes.

Last night was my last one working at Target before I start at Legato Marketing Communications. I decided to bring a treat, and what would I bring other than cupcakes! I flipped through my book several times trying to find one that would please a wide audience and decided that a Honey Bee Cupcake would be fairly neutral, but more exciting than just vanilla or chocolate. I loved them and so did Bob, but I don’t think they were quite the hit I hoped they’d be at work… I brought about a dozen home. Oh well, more for Bob!

I used some locally made honey and it gave the cupcakes a great honey flavor. Since the buttercream had honey in it too, after the cupcakes had sat for a few hours, the honey really soaked in the cake to make it very moist and extra flavorful.

Mini cupcakes for work

Recipe (From Wild About Cupcakes)

Ingredients:

Cake

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup self-rising flour (substitute the same quantity of all-purpose flour and 3/4 teaspoon of baking powder)

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup unsalted butter, softened (substitute the same quantity of unsweetened applesauce)

1/4 cup firmly packed light brown sugar

1/6 cup honey

1 large egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 cup milk

Honey Frosting 

1 cup unsalted butter, softened

2 tablespoons honey

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

3 cups confectioner’s sugar

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350. Line a standard 12- cup muffin tin with paper liners or a 24-cup mini muffin tin.

Combine both flours, baking soda and salt in a small bowl. Beat the butter, sugar, hone, egg, and vanilla in a medium bowl until well mixed. Add the mixed dry ingredients and milk and beat on low speed until well mixed. Spoon the batter into the muffin tins until 3/4 full. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Transfer to a wire rack and let cool completely before removing from the tin.

For the frosting, beat the butter, honey and vanilla in a small bowl until light and fluffy. Add the confectioner’s sugar and beat until combined.

Here the recipe calls for your to pipe the frosting into a beehive shape using a pastry bag and plain nozzle. Since I don’t have a pastry bag and nozzle set…yet… I just used a knife to spread the frosting. Then instead of little bees, I topped the cakes with some yellow sprinkles.

I had just enough batter to make two regular sized cupcakes - one for me and one for Bob

About Nicole Hangartner

A college grad navigating the real world while trying to remain fashionable and well fed. View all posts by Nicole Hangartner

Leave a Reply

