Crispy Herbed Fish and Hush Puppies

Tis the season of no (red) meat Fridays, which provides me a great opportunity to find new fish and vegetarian recipes to try. Yesterday was my first attempt. I made a crispy herbed fish found on the back of the corn meal package and some of my boyfriend’s grandma’s hush puppies (which according to the recipe are the perfect accompaniment to fried fish).

Not only was this dinner unexpectedly easy, it was also FULL of flavor. The fish took about 10 minutes to prep and only 8 minutes to cook. It had so much flavor despite the fact that I burnt the parmesan cheese when I broiled it. I didn’t even have a proper broiler pan though. I had to wrap a cooling rack in tin foil, punch some holes in it and put in on top of a baking sheet. It looked a little funny, but it definitely worked.

Crispy Herbed Fish (Found on Quaker Yellow Corn Meal)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup enriched corn meal

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese

1-1/2 teaspoons Italian seasoning

1/4 teaspoon garlic salt (I didn’t have salt, so I used a little garlic powder and some regular salt)

1-1/2 pound perch or cod fillets (frozen or fresh)

1/2 cup skim milk

3 tablespoons margarine, melted

Directions:

Mix all dry ingredients in one bowl. Pour milk into a separate bowl. Dip the fish in the milk, then coat with the dry mixture. Place the fish skin side down in broiler pan. Broil 5 inches from heat 5 – 8 minutes or until fish flakes easily and is golden brown. Don’t forget to watch the parmesan cheese!

To go with my fish, I fried up some hush puppies. I’ve never made these before and I was trying Bob’s grandma’s recipe, so I was a little intimidated. But like I said it was very easy and yielded some very tasty bites! Our mini deep fryer is probably one of the best Christmas presents Bob and I have ever gotten.

Hush Puppies

Ingredients:

1 medium onion chpped

1-1/2 cup corn meal

1 cup flour

1 egg

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon sugar

1 cup milk

Directions:

Mix well. Drop dough by the spoonful into 350 degree deep fryer. Fry until golden brown.

About Nicole Hangartner

A college grad navigating the real world while trying to remain fashionable and well fed. View all posts by Nicole Hangartner

Leave a Reply

