Favorite Designer?

Today I was asked an interesting question…Who are your favorite designers? As a broke girl who’s never had the luxury of buying clothes from “real” designers, I’ve never thought about how I’d answer that question. But, as an aspiring fashionista, I definitely need to figure this one out! I think it’s because I know I can’t afford the clothes, that I don’t really think about a favorite designer. They are all kind of lumped together in this fantasy fashion world that I’m not quite a part of. I see designer clothes as inspiration for finding more affordable ones at stores I actually shop at.

I can list my favorite stores – Loft, NY&CO, Target, H&M and Forever 21. And I know I like Channel purses, Manolo Blahnik and Jimmy Choo shoes. As I peruse my Marie Claire, Elle and Harper’s Bazaar magazines, I find myself attracted to Jason Wu (who coincidentally is creating a collection for Target!) and Carolina Herrera. And I love all of the Prabal Gurung dresses that Sarah Jessica Parker wears.

But I’ll have to start paying more attention to the designers who make the clothes instead of just the clothes… maybe soon I’ll be able to answer “Who are your favorite designers” with a concrete answer!

About Nicole Hangartner

A college grad navigating the real world while trying to remain fashionable and well fed. View all posts by Nicole Hangartner

One response to “Favorite Designer?

Leave a Reply

