I wish I were Italian

Two things:

1. I wish I were Italian. 2. I LOVE scallops.

My boyfriend’s and mine go to food style is usually Italian. If we aren’t sure what to make, we usually grab some noodles, a sauce and either chicken or shrimp. This is probably because we have about 6 pounds of spaghetti noodles from Sam’s Club that never seems to dwindle down!

Tonight we  decided to use up some frozen bay scallops, which we also buy in bulk at Sam’s. Since the scallops were small, too small to eat by themselves, we took out some of the 6 pounds of spaghetti noodles and added frozen beans and an Archer Farms vodka sauce from Target. Dinner only took about 10 minutes, but it was as delicious as if we had gotten it at an Italian restaurant.

Scallops with pasta, beans and vodka sauce

I’d seen the sauce at Target one day while I was zoning market. Ever since then, I’ve wanted an excuse to try it. Taste and look wise, it is basically a creamy marinara sauce with a little hint of something, probably the vodka, that makes it taste a bit lemony. I highly recommend it. It’s an easy exchange for basic spaghetti sauce.

The sauce and noodles didn’t require a lot of effort, so the only thing we jazzed up was the scallops. We sautéed them up in olive oil and mined garlic. The beans were added right to the pan to soak up the yummy juices.

And since we already had the spaghetti noodles at home as well as the scallops, dinner tonight cost about $4. Keeping things like frozen chicken breasts/shrimp/scallops, noodles and sauce around the house is a great way to make a quick and inexpensive dinner for two or even a family. If you shop at a club store like Sam’s Club or Costco, you could buy bulk noodles and several different sauces, so dinners don’t get boring!

My love for Italian food has resulted in a desire to travel to Italy. I would love to eat and drink my way through the whole of Italy…maybe someday.

About Nicole Hangartner

A college grad navigating the real world while trying to remain fashionable and well fed. View all posts by Nicole Hangartner

One response to “I wish I were Italian

  • Carrie

    Your scallop’s pasta with beans and vodka sauce looks delicious! We thought you might be interested in checking out our Simply Delicious Meals Baja Scallops with Fiesta Rice, http://bit.ly/AdNRyI, or our Tomato Bruschetta with Grilled Scallops recipe, http://bit.ly/wJurLf. Thanks for shopping at Sam’s Club and let us know if you try them.
    – Carrie from Sam’s Club

Leave a Reply

